Australia Day

Australia Day should remain on the 26th of January to serve as a sign that despite past wrongs, love is stronger than hate, understanding is stronger than prejudice, and forgiveness is stronger than the grudges that hold us down. Holding onto the hurt of the decades and generations past only serves to prevent complete and meaningful reconciliation.

The Australia of today is not the Australia of the time of British colonisation. We should be rightly proud – not of the wrongs committed by those who were before us – but of how far Australia has come in advancing fairness and respect for all its peoples. However, we must never lose sight of the never ending need to foster the virtues and values that enable us to embrace the human dignity of all peoples.

And so, by celebrating Australia Day on the 26th of January, we not only celebrate and appreciate the value and contributions of people from various backgrounds and cultures who have made Australia the vibrant and highly cultured nation it is today. But we also celebrate the great hope in knowing that wrongs can be made right, and remind ourselves of the strength in always striving to be a better and more virtuous people, community and nation.

Banned West Papua independence petition handed to UN

Document outlawed by Indonesia was ‘smuggled from one end of Papua to the other’ and signed by 70% of the population.

Australia must support the pleas of the West Papuans on the floor of the United Nations. The DLP is committed to the cause of the West Papuan people.

The following story in the Guardian explains how 1.8 million West Papuans have taken an incredibly brave and dangerous stand against the threats of the Indonesian military in the hope that the world will finally open its eyes to the atrocities they have endured for over 50 years.


A tribute to Mr Stephen Smith

stephen-smithIt is with a heavy heart that we report on the passing of Mr Stephen Smith of Melbourne.

Mr Smith passed away on Wednesday 23 November, aged 51 years.

A DLP member until his death, Mr Smith was active in student politics in his youth and went on to become a senior lecturer in accounting at Monash University.

Mr Smith was one of the DLP’s best performing candidates in the 2010 Victorian State Election, winning 3.5% of the vote for the seat of Ivanhoe. 

Mr Smith leaves his lovely wife Pamela, and their six children Maria, Christiane, Patrick, Tamsin and Petria. To his whole family, the DLP offers our sincerest condolences. 

Thanks Steve for being such a great guy – you will be greatly missed. Rest in peace.

2016 Victorian DLP State Conference

The 2016 Victorian DLP State Conference will take place on Saturday, 13 August, starting at 9:30am sharp, in the Phyllis Hore Room at the Kew Library.

Special guest speaker (Agenda item no. 16): Paul Russell, Director of HOPE: preventing euthanasia & assisted suicide, will present on looming euthanasia legislation in Victoria.

Members who are not delegates are entitled to attend as observers and to participate in the Question and Answer session to be held prior to General Business.

Download Conference Agenda

Ample parking is available on site.

Public Transport:
The library is easily accessible by public transport, with the 109 tram on Cotham Rd (stop no. 35). The 16 tram (Kew bound) can be accessed on Glenferrie Rd from Glenferrie train station, and it travels north to the T intersection with Cotham Rd, which is a 5 minute walk to the library.


Click map below to view larger image

DLP Conference Map

Bailey Branch Established

The Victorian State branch continues to develop with the formal establishment of the 5th of 12 local branches.
The State Executive is pleased to announce that the members of the Lalor, Gorton, Maribyrnong and Gellibrand electorates met in Werribee on 28th July and established the Bailey branch. The branch is named after Albert ‘Bert’ Bailey, DLP member of the Legislative Council for Western Melbourne until 1958.
The Bailey branch is included in the Western Metropolitan region held for the DLP by Dr Rachel Carling-Jenkins. The branch executive hopes to start a membership drive and ongoing social activities within the next few months.
The next branch to be formed will be branch 11 which consists of the Wannon, Mallee, Murray electorates. It will be formed at a meeting in Warrnambool on Thursday 11th August, 2016. Due to the size of the branch most members cannot be expected to attend in person. Therefore members will be able to participate through a phone conference system being established by the State Executive.

Update on Victorian Local Branch Establishment

The fourth of 12 Victorian local branches has now been established.
The federal electorates of Melbourne, Kooyong, Chisholm and Higgins have been established as the McManus branch, named after Victorian Senator Frank McManus.
Congratulations to the new office bearers:
President- Chris Blackburn
Secretary – Lucia De Summa
Assistant Secretary/Treasurer – Anne-Maree Quinn
The branch covering the electorates of Lalor, Gorton, Maribyrnong and Gellibrand as well as the branch covering the electorates of Corio and Corangamite will also be up and running over the next month.

2016 NSW State Conference

DLP members in NSW are advised that the 2016 NSW State Conference will take place on Saturday, 2 April at Seton Hall, corner of Swain St & Heathcote Rd, Moorebank.

Credentialing will begin at 9am and the Conference will commence at 10am.

Please note that the deadline for registering your attendance and providing notice of motions is 5pm Thursday 31 March 2016.

For further information, please visit